Thursday, June 26, 2008

Not Too Shabby...

Your result for The Commonly Confused Words Test...

English Genius

You scored 100% Beginner, 100% Intermediate, 100% Advanced, and 87% Expert!

You did so extremely well, even I can't find a word to describe your excellence! You have the uncommon intelligence necessary to understand things that most people don't. You have an extensive vocabulary, and you're not afraid to use it properly! Way to go!

Thank you so much for taking my test. I hope you enjoyed it!

For the complete Answer Key, visit my blog:

Take The Commonly Confused Words Test at HelloQuizzy

Thursday, June 19, 2008

Believe It or Not, I'm Still Here

No, I haven't posted much lately.

No, I'm not likely to post much for at least another week or so.

We're busy preparing the NerdPod for Avindair to "depart the fix." In less than a week, he'll be heading off to DAVE School for a year. I'll write more about it later. Right now, I'm just concentrating on him, the kids, and my new job.

But, just to show that I'm still here, I stole this from MagicMarmot. Okay. So I just stole the questions. I made up my own answers.

1. First Name:
Kristi. Just Kristi. Not short for Christina or Christine. Spelled with a "K", not a "Ch". Spelled with an "i", not "ie" or "y". I've been explaining that since Kindergarten, so I'm well-practiced.

2. Age:
In 6 months I'll be equal to the answer to the question of life, the universe and everything.

3. Location:
At my desk, in front of the Mac I love so very much, in my darkened office in a northern Minneapolis suburb... wondering how the contents of my Diet Coke can disappeared so quickly.

4. Occupation:
New job. Web Content Manager for a major initiative of a worldwide health care insurance provider. I also do freelance writing on the side.

5. Partner:
The love of my life, Avindair.

6. Kids:
Two great kids: MonkeyDude (16) and The Alien (11). I couldn't be more proud.

7. Brothers/Sisters:
None. I'm an only child. Unless you count the cranky, but loved poodle I grew up with. We did often fight like sisters.

8. Pets:
Buddy, our sweet, black (and turning grey) poodle. AKA NerdHound, Shadow Dogbreath, Houdini Poochini, Fuzzy Butt, Waggy-Tail Dog, CatDog, and other endearing names.

9. List the 3-5 biggest things going on in your life:
-- Avindair heading off to school for a year.
-- New job.
-- Facing temporary single-mom status.
-- Learning to balance freedom / parenting for a 16-year-old boy just getting his driving permit and his first job.
-- Dealing with an increasingly hormonal 11-year-old daughter.

10. Education:
As a formal education, I have a Bachelor of Arts in English that's actually served me well. I'd love to be able to go back to school one day, just to learn about things I feel like learning about.

11. Parents:
Mom, 64, living in North Dakota to care for her elderly mother.
Dad, 67, living in Mississippi to care for his elderly mother.

12. Who are some of your closest friends?
My husband is my closest friend. But outside the NerdPod locally, it would be MagicMarmot, Saveau and Garret. PenMaster and Bunnie from afar.